For Parents

Important information for Parents

This part of our website is intended to inform our parents and help you keep on top of what’s happening at Te Kura Kaupapa Māori o Hoani Waititi Marae.

2018 School Term Dates

Term 1

Tuesday 7 February – Friday 15th April

Term 2

Monday 2 May – Friday 8 July

Term 3

Monday 25 July – Friday 23 September

Term 4

Monday 10 October – Thursday 14 December


2019 School Term Dates

START DATEEND DATE HOLIDAYS

Term 1 - 11 weeks

Between Monday 28 January
(at the earliest);
and Thursday 7 February (at the latest)
Friday 12 April (94-108 half days)

Public holidays: Waitangi Day 6 February.

School holiday: Saturday 13 April - Sunday 28 April (includes Easter and Easter Tuesday and ANZAC day).

Term 2 - 10 weeks

Monday 29 AprilFriday 5 July (98 half days)

Public holiday: Queen’s Birthday 3 June

School holiday: Saturday 6 July – Sunday 21 July

Term 3 - 10 weeks

Monday 22 JulyFriday 27 September (100 half days)School holidays: Saturday 28 September – Sunday 13 October

Term 4 - up to 10 weeks

Monday 14 October

Primary, intermediate and special schools:
No later than Friday 20 December (98 half days)*

Secondary and composite:
No later than Friday 13 December (94 half days)**

Public holidays: Labour Day 28 October, Christmas Day, Boxing Day, New Year's Day

School holiday: 5 or 6 weeks (from school’s closing date until opening date of school the following year)


School Times

**No children are allowed to be dropped off at Kura before 8:00am. All children to be collected no later than 4:00pm**

KURA TUATAHI

8.30am -

10.40am - Interval

12.45pm - 1.30pm - Lunch

3.00pm - School Finishes


WHAREKURA

8:30am - Kowhiringa begin

9.45am- Karakia o te ata

10.00am- Kai o te ata

10.15- Block 1 begins

12.15pm- Kai o te Ranui

1.00pm- Block 2 begins

3.10pm- Kura finishes


Weekly Newsletter

E-pānui will come out every Thursday. They will be sent out via email. Hardcopies can be picked up from the office.

You can sign up to recieve the E-pānui at the bottom of this page.


School Uniforms

School uniform is compulsory for all students.

The Kura day uniform can be purchased from The Warehouse at Westcity Mall in Henderson.

Navy blue polos are worn with black bottoms and black shoes.

All orders for the Kura PE uniform can be made at the office.

The Wharekura number 1s are changing yet again, and Elizabeth Michael are our new suppliers. Please see attached below the address for the Elizabeth Michael website.Our new number 1s uniform will be available for purchase in mid January. Closer to the time, we will let everyone know the exact date our uniforms go on sale.

http://elizabethmichael.co.nz/



Whānau Commitment

Kura Kaupapa Māori is whānau driven, and you play an integral part in the success of this kaupapa. In order for the school to run smoothly your active participation is necessary.

We have outlined what is expected of each whānau:

  1. Te Reo Māori will be the language of communication on all Kura haerenga
  2. All whānau must attend one Aho Matua wānanga per year
  3. Non-speakers of te reo Māori are expected to join the weekly Ataarangi classes held here at the marae
  4. One member from each whānau must join one of the following ohu: Finance, Personnel, Property, Health & Safety, Curriculum, Technology, Kapa Haka, Fundraising or Sport
  5. One member from each whānau must attend monthly whānau hui
  6. All parents will be allocated to a working group and will be rostered to help at wānanga and school fundraisers

Learn more and get in touch today